17.05.2023

OMR 2023 Review

OMR 2023 Review

Two days in Hamburg at OMR: Our honest review of the meeting of the digital superlatives.

But first: What is the OMR?

OMR is one thing above all: a festival for the digital universe with a lot of entertainment and show. A place to network, gather inspiration, educate yourself and immerse yourself in the vibrant atmosphere of the online marketing industry. Every year in May, marketing, digital and technology experts gather in Hamburg to be part of this spectacle (and because their FOMO prevents them from not going). International companies present their latest products, founders share their inspiring stories and influencers explain how they became a brand. A few clichés were fulfilled, of course: it was way too crowded - too many pretty people, with white sneakers and colorful Zara blazers, drinking bottles of overpriced wine already at noon.

Our highlights of the OMR:

State of the German Internet 2023: The Update for Everyone in the Digital Cosmos - OMR CEO Philipp Westermeyer and OMR Editor-in-Chief Roland Eisenbrand on digital industry trends, challenges for marketers, and the winners and losers in the digital space.

Here are the most important facts of the presentation:

  • GAFA appears to have reached its growth peak.
  • The "social" in "social media" no longer exists - professional and entertainment content are the focus instead.
  • Sports streaming among the biggest winners 22/23
  • the Metaverse is one of the losers this year
  • Logos become more and more boring
  • Also exciting: The production costs per minute of social media videos overtake the costs of classic television productions.

We think: State of the German Internet 2023 is absolutely recommendable. Here you can watch the keynote "State of the German Internet" again on YouTube.

"I have been a woman all my life" - this was the sentence with which Barbara Frenkel started her interview with Markus Lanz about her path to the Porsche Executive Board. It is still not a matter of course that a woman is so successful in the automotive industry. She talked about how she made it to the top, what it means to be a good leader and how she deals with being responsible for 14 billion euros and countless jobs. Very inspiring, down-to-earth and authentic woman!

Another highlight for sure: Oli P.!!! At just under 22 clock Oli P. enters the Red Stage after K.I.Z. and the hall goes wild. We danced, sang, laughed and had a great time until the lights went out at about 00:10. But for us it went on to various after- and after-after-parties in Hamburg's city. An unforgettable evening with the team - gladly again.

Our conclusion:

Yes, it was crowded and yes, the tickets are not exactly cheap - BUT the OMR is definitely not only a hype event, but also offers a lot of exciting and interesting input for everyone who is interested in the digital world. You can discover trends, build connections and create new visions - and that makes it worth the hype.

OMR 2023 Review
Selina Knierling
Breaking News

Projects, updates, trends. This is what's going on at Halbstark.

Halbstark Receives four awards at once

Read

Halbstark x Heimplanet: Redefining the e-commerce experience together

Read
and
much, much more

17.05.2023

OMR 2023 Review

OMR 2023 Review

Zwei Tage in Hamburg auf der OMR: Unsere ehrliche Review zum Treffen der Digital-Superlative.

Doch zuerst: Was ist die OMR?

Die OMR ist vor allem eins: Ein Festival für das digitale Universum mit einer Menge Entertainment und Show. Ein Ort des Netzwerkens, Inspirationen-Sammelns, Weiterbildens und Eintauchen in die pulsierende Atmosphäre der Online Marketing Branche. Jedes Jahr im Mai sammeln sich Marketing-, Digital- und Technologie-ExpertInnen in Hamburg, um Teil dieses Spektakels zu sein (und weil ihre FOMO sie daran hindert nicht zu gehen). Internationale Unternehmen präsentieren ihre neuesten Produkte, GründerInnen teilen ihre inspirierenden Geschichten und Influencer erklären, wie sie zur Marke wurden. Ein paar Klischees wurden natürlich erfüllt: es war viel zu voll - zu viele hübsche Menschen, mit weißen Sneakern und farbigen Zara Blazern, die schon mittags flaschenweise überteuerten Wein trinken.

Unsere Highlights der OMR:

State of the German Internet 2023: Das Update für alle im Digital-Kosmos - OMR-Chef Philipp Westermeyer und OMR-Chefredakteur Roland Eisenbrand über Trends der Digital-Branche, Herausforderungen für Marketer und die Gewinner und Verlierer im digitalen Space.

Hier die wesentlichsten Facts des Vortrags:

  • Die GAFA scheinen ihr Wachstums-Peak erreicht zu haben.
  • Das „Social“ in „Social Media“ existiert nicht mehr - Profi- und Entertainment Content stehen stattdessen im Fokus.
  • Sport Streaming gehört zu den größten Gewinnern 22/23
  • das Metaverse gehört dieses Jahr zu den Verlierern
  • Logos werden immer langweiliger
  • Außerdem spannend: Die Produktionskosten pro Minute von Social Media Videos überholen die Kosten von klassischen Fernsehproduktionen.

Wir finden: State of the German Internet 2023 ist absolut empfehlenswert. Hier kannst Du Dir die Keynote „State of the German Internet“ auf YouTube nochmal anschauen.

„Ich war mein ganzes Leben lang eine Frau“ - mit diesem Satz startete Barbara Frenkel ihr Interview mit Markus Lanz zu ihrem Weg in den Porsche Vorstand. Es ist noch immer nicht selbstverständlich, dass eine Frau in der Automobilindustrie so erfolgreich ist. Sie berichtete davon, wie sie es an die Spitze geschafft hat, was es heißt ein guter Leiter zu sein und wie sie damit umgeht für 14 Milliarden Euro und unzählige Jobs verantwortlich zu sein. Sehr inspirierende, bodenständige und authentische Frau!

Ein weiteres Highlight ganz klar: Oli P.!!! Um knapp 22Uhr betritt Oli P. nach K.I.Z. die Red Stage und die Halle tobt. Wir haben getanzt, gesungen, gelacht und hatten eine mega Zeit bis um ca. 00:10Uhr dann die Lichter ausgingen. Doch für uns ging es noch weiter zu diversen after- und after-after-partys in Hamburgs City. Ein unvergesslicher Abend mit dem Team - gerne wieder.

Unser Fazit:

Ja, es war voll und ja die Tickets sind nicht gerade günstig - ABER die OMR ist ganz sicher nicht nur ein Hypeevent, sondern bietet auch eine Menge spannenden und interessanten Input für alle, die sich für die digitale Welt interessieren. Man kann Trends entdecken, Connections aufbauen und neue Visionen schaffen - und damit ist es den Hype Wert.

OMR 2023 Review
Breaking News

Projekte, Updates, Trends. Das ist los bei Halbstark.

Halbstark wird gleich vierfach ausgezeichnet

Halbstark wird gleich vierfach ausgezeichnet

Lesen
Halbstark x Heimplanet: Zusammen das E-Commerce Erlebnis neu definieren

Halbstark x Heimplanet: Zusammen das E-Commerce Erlebnis neu definieren

Lesen
und noch
ganz viel mehr